Posted by: James McDonald | June 27, 2008

Does Your Local United Way Support Planned Parenthood?

When I was an engineer, my company actively supported the efforts of our local United Way. All employees, especially members of management, were strongly encouraged to participate in the program by designating a certain amount each month to go to efforts of the United Way. At the time, I was a bit peeved by the tactics. As a Christian, I felt the obligation to bring my tithes and offerings into the storehouse of the Church. But, as management, I felt the need to participate. After evaluating the charities supported by the United Way in my area at the time, I was encouraged to see that no monies were going to causes that caused me significant consternation.

However, that is not the case with our local United Way here in Peoria. While United Way helps many needed charities, our local chapter also gives to Planned Parenthood.

Planned Parenthood in Illinois used to be regionalized; each area provided specific services to a particular community. However, that has changed. Now, all the Planned Parenthood organizations in Illinois are under one conglomerate.

In the past, this local chapter made the claim that they were independent and only provided educational and women’s health services. They did not directly perform abortions. But, now that the agency is a statewide organization, even our local office is participating in the activities of Planned Parenthood statewide, which includes the operation of large abortion clinics in Aurora, Champaign, and Chicago.

Yesterday, Reverend Mark Henninger and I hand delivered a letter officially requesting that the United Way stop funding the anti-family efforts of Planned Parenthood. This letter was signed by ministers and ministry leaders from around the Peoria area.

You can read a story on this effort from our local paper, the Peoria Journal Star.

We are now waiting for a response from the United Way.

Please pray that the Lord will turn the heart of our local United Way to end their support of Planned Parenthood. I also encourage you to check with your local United Way to see if they support Planned Parenthood. Each United Way is independent. Some do support Planned Parenthood, while some support Christian alternatives. Lord willing, we will see more charitable giving offered to organizations that support the cause of life.

If your local United Way supports Planned Parenthood, I encourage you to take a similar approach. See if you can get your pastor to take up the challenge of drafting a letter and getting other ministers to endorse it. I will provide a copy of our letter to any pastor who asks. Christians should not be silent in the fight for the unborn.

And, I encourage you to end your support of any organization that gives monies to the cause of darkness. Should a Christian support any organization or any candidate who endorses this modern-day holocaust?


Responses

  1. That sounds like a productive way to try to get their attention. I hope it helps. I know that United Way has been supporting Planned Parenthood for years.

    In the 80’s when I was in the military we were obligated to donate so much to charity from our checks-and I refused to give to United Way because of this. (I think I chose the Red Cross instead.)

    We should be wise stewards of the money God has entrusted to us. Where we have choices we should choose them wisely so they glorify God.

  2. I might also point out that when you get a donor card for United Way it might show several different places they give their money and ask which one you want it to go to, but checking one of these boxes DOES NOT mean your money is going there. They are set up to give a specific amount of donations to each organization and if they need more for one and less for the other they will not go with what the donor asked for.

  3. I will be praying for your efforts, and the efforts of other local ministers, as you seek to make a difference and encourage others to do the same. It will be interesting to hear the response of the United Way in lieu of your letter.

    My husband used to support United Way, but has stopped. His company was told that they could “designate” where the charity money would go to, but when they were brought to account, they really could not answer “HOW” they kept the money separate. So, now- rather than donate to them- despite much pressure from his company, my husband gives directly to noteworthy charities. He also figures that money isn’t going to so much “administrative” overhead and so forth that way.

    Thank you for taking a stand, and rallying others to make a difference. Please keep us posted!

  4. Thanks Brandy, Nickey, and Michelle!

    This is a tough go here in Peoria – we are not making loads of friends. But I am sure the Lord is with this us. I am praying the United Way, locally and nationally, will see their error in supporting Planned Parenthood.

    Blessings,

  5. Thank you for all of the information. Tomorrow I was to interview for a job here in Atlanta with the United Way. I told my family about the possible job opportunity and they were all very quick to point out that The United Way supports abortion via Planned Parethood.

    I will decline the interview and the job expaining that as a Christian I can’t support their efforts to directly or indirectly take the life of an unborn child.

    God will provide elsewhere for me.

  6. I was not aware that Planned Parenthood supports abortion. What I am aware of though is that Planned Parenthood saved my life. I’m a 37 year old mother and wife with no health care coverage. I was having some female health issue’s and was unable to aford seeing a doctor. When a friend of mine told me about Planned Parenthood. So, I made the call. It was Planned Parenthood that did the pap smear that led to my diagnosis of invasive cerical cancer. I realize the abortion issue (I too am against). I just wanted to share with all of you that if it wasn’t for Planned Parenthood, I would of never been diagnosed or went for treatment.

  7. I live in Scranton PA. I contacted our United Way once and they said they didnt believe they supported planned parenthood. I asked if they could verify this and assure me and they said they couldnt. I havent given them a cent since even though my employer benefits from them and encourages donations. I donate the amount they encourage directly to my nonprofit company

  8. Did you ever get a response back from Planned Parenthood? Please let me know. The company I work for, which employs 20,000, is once again soliciting for United Way. For 25 years in a row I have refused to support United Way. I will not give to United Way until they stop as an entire organization supporting Planned Parenthood. I will not be swayed by the smart marketing campaigns claiming all your money goes to your local choice. This is not completely true. All participants who give to United way indirectly support the administrative costs of running the organization. WHY? because a greater portion of the monies given by donators who don’t designate locally go to supporting the administrative costs. This allows United Way to claim only such and such percentage of overall donations go to administrative costs while claiming if you designate locally all your money goes to your local choice. What is the administrative costs percentage for people donating to United way for general purposes?

    Bottom line: I do not want to be associated with a company that promotes abortions even if my individual contribution does not support abortions. Can I be proud to give to United Way? Not right now?

  9. After hearing that United Way supports Planned Parenthood, our Board decided to forgo their blood money. Our United Way said that their “Local” chapter does not financially give to Planned Parenthood, but we left anyway. Interesting they didn’t say anything about the nationally.

    Our hotline doesn’t even have enough money to pay our bills, but as the Chairman of the Board said, “God will provide. How can he bless us if we are receiving the blood money from Satan.” I must say, things are turning around, we are finally getting new volunteers and I know the money will soon follow!

  10. After hearing that United Way supports Planned Parenthood, our Board decided to forgo their blood money. Our United Way said that their “Local” chapter does not financially give to Planned Parenthood, but we left anyway. Interesting they didn’t say anything about nationally.

    Our hotline doesn’t even have enough money to pay our bills, but as the Chairman of the Board said, “God will provide. How can he bless us if we are receiving the blood money from Satan.” I must say, things are turning around, we are finally getting new volunteers and I know the money will soon follow!


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

